• The Research Corporation For Science Advancement has named Anna Schapiro a 2022 Scialog Fellow for Molecular Basis of Cognition! Scialog Fellows are early career scientists identified as rising stars in the area of the initiative’s theme.

    Scialog, short for Science + Dialog, is a unique framework for convening scientists with the goal of rapidly generating novel, high-risk basic science research ideas, catalyzing new collaborations among researchers, strengthening networks of early career scientists, and empowering private foundations and other funders to work together...

  • Allyson Mackey has been selected as an awardee for the IMBES Early Career Award! This award is designed to recognize early career scholars who have made significant, original research contributions to the field of Mind, Brain, and Education. For more information, please visit

  • The Society for the Scientific Study of Psychopathy has named Becky Waller a recipiant of the 2022 Jevon S. Newman Early Career Contribution Award. The Early Career Contribution Award is given every two years to two recipients, and was created to recognize exceptional young scholars who have shown considerable promise and productivity in the formative years of their career and who have made a significant contribution to the understanding of psychopathy.  

  • Amber L. Alhadeff named the grand prize winner of The Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology.

    The Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology acknowledges the increasingly active and important role of neurobiology in advancing our understanding of the functioning of the brain and the nervous system -- a quest that seems destined for dramatic expansion in the coming decades. This international prize, established in 2002, encourages the work of promising young neurobiologists by providing support in the early stages of their careers.

    It is awarded...

  •  Zach Cohen and Johannes Eichstaedt among list of most recent members to be named APS Rising Stars in February of 2022.

    The APS Rising Star designation is presented to outstanding APS members in the earliest stages of their research career post-PhD. Drawing its name from an Observer editorial series that featured exemplars of the exciting work being done by the field’s newest researchers, this designation recognizes researchers whose innovative work has already...

  • Universidad Siglo 21 (Cordoba, Argentina) awards Marty Seligman Doctor Honoris Causa, on Tuesday October 12th, 2021.

  • The Department of Psychology is saddened to announce the passing of Professor Emeritus Lila Gleitman, a champion of cognitive science, a mentor to many of her field’s leaders, and an inspiration to all.  

    Her work on children’s word learning, concepts, and grammar established many of the empirical results and theoretical questions that are central to debate today. She never shied from debate, but leavened every interaction with her unmistakable wit.

    We all rose higher in her presence, and...

  • Individuals ranked by Academic Influence are recognized as the most influential people working in psychology today and are named for having significantly impacted the academic discipline of psychology within 2010-2020.

     AI recognizes Marty’s achievements as both a prominent psychologist and a popular author, highlighting his activity in the field of positive psychology, and his corresponding theories of well-being. Among his work, Seligman is perhaps best known for initiating research in the concept of learned helplessness and his contributions to positive...

  • Monday, June 21, 2021, 12:00-1:00pm EST


    Join speaker Nicole C. Rust for the Congressional Neuroscience Caucus briefing on the BRAIN initiative, via a short talk highlighting the work in her lab on memory.  

    Other speakers include Representatives Blumenauer & McMorris Rodgers, John Ngai (head of BRAIN), Diane Lipscombe (Brown), and Boaz Levi (Allen Institute).  

    This will be a Virtual Briefing celebrating the Brain Research through Advancing Innovative...

  • A recording of this colloquium can be viewed here.

    Title: Unforced Errors in Our Emotional Lives

    Faculty Host: Joseph Kable and Anna Jenkins

    URL for more information: