Javier Medina named a 2009 Searle Scholar

(Details at http://www.searlescholars.net/go.php?id=34)

May 8, 2009

Fifteen Searle Scholars Named for 2009

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS - Fifteen individuals doing research in the chemical and biological sciences will each have an additional $300,000 to support their research programs during the next three years. The fifteen have been named as the 2009 Searle Scholars. Over the past 28 years, 452 Searle Scholars have shared over $88,640,000 in grants made since the program began in 1981. This year, 178 applications were considered from recently appointed assistant professors, nominated by 120 universities and research institutions. The final selection of Scholars was based on recommendations made by a Scientific Advisory Board of twelve scientists distinguished for their research and leadership in fields of interest to the Searle Scholars Program.

In selecting the Scholars, the Board looked for scientists who have already demonstrated innovative research with the potential for making significant contributions to biological research over an extended period of time.

The funds that support the awards come from trusts established under the wills of John G. and Frances C. Searle. Mr. Searle was President of G.D. Searle & Co., of Skokie, Illinois, a research-based pharmaceutical company. Mr. and Mrs. Searle expressed the wish that some of the proceeds of their estates be used for the support of research in medicine, chemistry, and biological science.

In 1980, members of the Searle family acting as Consultants to the Trustees of the Trusts established under the wills of Mr. & Mrs. John G. Searle, recommended the development of a program of support for young biomedical scientists. This idea evolved into the Searle Scholars Program, which is funded through grants from the family trusts to The Chicago Community Trust and administered by Kinship Foundation in Northbrook, Illinois.

A list of the 2009 Scholars and the names of the institution that will administer the awards can be found below.


Philip H. Bradley, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Iain M. Cheeseman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Danica Chen, University of California, Berkeley

Mauro Costa-Mattioli, Baylor College of Medicine

Bianxiao Cui, Stanford University

Gregory S. Engel, University of Chicago

Nevan J. Krogan, University of California, San Francisco

Andreas Martin, University of California, Berkeley

Javier F. Medina, University of Pennsylvania

John Novembre, University of California, Los Angeles

Benjamin Ohlstein, Columbia University Medical Center

John L. Rinn, Harvard Medical School

Beth A. Shapiro, Pennsylvania State University

Doris Y. Tsao, California Institute of Technology

Weiwei Zhong, Rice University